You Are A Good Cook If You Can Make Something Out Of Nothing!

I was craving something sweet  and I looked around my kitchen and in my refrigerator for ingredients I could use to make my wish become reality. What do I have? Lets see! I always have flour and sugar and spices on hand, and oh yes here is some raisins and good, some nuts. What can I make? I’ll look in the frig to see what else I have. It’s a little empty! No fruit! No milk! I only have 1 egg and I do have a stick of butter! What do I make? Oh, I have leftover applesauce that I served with that roast pork I served 3 months ago, is it still good? I look in the jar, no mold, great! Does it smell good? Yes! I’ll taste it, it is fine! Now I’ll put these things together and I made an Applesauce cake.

Applesauce Cake

1/2 cup of butter (1 stick)

1 cup sugar

1 cup  cold unsweetened applesauce

1/2 tsp ground cloves

2 cups flour

1 tsp soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1 egg

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 nuts

1 tsp vanilla

Cream butter and add sugar. Add applesauce. Add 1 egg beaten. Add flour sifted with soda and spices. Then add raisins and nuts. Bake in 350 degree oven for 40 minutes. Simple!

Look in your closets, look in your refrigerator! You can always find something to put together if you know how to improvise to create something out of nothing!

About piesandeyes

I am a Chef, a Baker, a foodie, I love pots and pans, bakeries, and especially pies! I love the smells of something baking in the oven and I could live just standing next to a stove.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Are A Good Cook If You Can Make Something Out Of Nothing!

  1. Mmm… Apple sauce… I love those cravings, sometimes my best creations are made from (the basic essentials) I usually have on hand! I hope we can see some yummy photos of all these delicious things you’re making. Nom, nom, nom…

  2. Malou says:

    That’s true! A good cook is very creative and is not a slave of set ingredients. 😉

Leave a Reply

