Chocolate Chocolate Chip Nutella Scones

Yummy are these scones! They are so good that I ate 2 in just 10 minutes. I know I am a pig when it comes to sweets! But they smelled so good when they came out of the oven that I could not resist! I have to learn to eat just one!

Here is the recipe:

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Nutella Scones

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  • Lightly grease baking sheet
  • Sift together:      2 cups of AP flour
  •                               1/2 tsp salt
  •                               1/4 cup sugar
  •                               1 tablespoon of baking powder
  •                               2 tablespoons of cocoa
  • Cut 1 stick (8 tablespoons) of cold butter into small chunks and work it into dry ingredients until mixture is unevenly crumbly. Use fingers or pastry blender.
  • Add 3/4 cup of chocolate chips  and blend
  • Stir together in another bowl :             
  •                                2 large eggs (beaten)                                     
  •                                1/2 cup of strong coffee (cooled)
  •                                 1 tsp vanilla
  •                                1/2 cup of ricotta cheese
  •                                1/2 cup of nutella spread
  • mix till well blended
  • Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir very gently till mixed, dough will be stiff
  • Use biscuit cutter or form dough with your hands to form a nice hockey puck, forming lightly and not pushing together tightly the dough
  • Brush milk over top of scones and sprinkle with sugar, 
  • Bake 20 to 25 minutes till lightly brown
  • ENJOY!!                                


About piesandeyes

I am a Chef, a Baker, a foodie, I love pots and pans, bakeries, and especially pies! I love the smells of something baking in the oven and I could live just standing next to a stove.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Savory and Sweet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Chocolate Chip Nutella Scones

  1. I love ricotta for baking and equally love butella from the jar, so the combo definitely works for me! Love you pics too 🙂

  2. bellegroveatportconway says:

    I am getting ready to open a bed and breakfast on a very historic property in Virginia. (it’s where James Madison was born) One of the events we are going to offer is an Afternoon Tea. So I am so glad I came across your blog! Thanks for the great post!

  3. debbrunson says:

    You had me at Nutella! 🙂

Leave a Reply

