SWEATING BY HEAT

NO ! NOT THAT SWEATING! I’m talking about sweating vegetables!

I had a leftover cooked whole chicken that I decided to make into a chicken soup. I made a stock by sauteing onions, celery stalks, bay leaves, and carrots and dropping the chicken in the pot , then adding water to the brim and simmering for about an hour. Then after that was done and the pot was cooled I discarded the bones and veggies and saved the chicken that was left and put it aside. Then I cut up carrots, celery, and onions, (Mirepoix) and some zucchini and proceeded to SWEAT them in the stock pan by sauteing them in butter and adding a little salt to help take the moisture out and make them tender. Add stock, some leftover rice and pasta, the chicken, and Voila, Chicken Vegetable Soup!

About piesandeyes

I am a Chef, a Baker, a foodie, I love pots and pans, bakeries, and especially pies! I love the smells of something baking in the oven and I could live just standing next to a stove.
This entry was posted in Food Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

