Antoinette Chocolate Meringue Pie

ANTOINETTE CHOCOLATE MERINGUE PIE

I found this recipe in my box of oodles and oodles of newspaper recipes. It came from a newspaper from 1986, written by ” Thoughtful” in the ” Chatters” column.                                                          

The title was “Antoinette Dessert” and the desciption  was described as follows:

” This chocolate pudding is as pretty as its name sounds. It is a nice, high dessert and is quick and easy.”

I adapted this recipe and made a pie out of it!

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 4 cups of milk
  • 4 tablespoons minute tapioca
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 squares unsweetened chocolate, cut in pieces
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 egg whites ( I used 4 egg whites)
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 pie shell (baked)
  • chocolate shavings ( for garnish)

      Bake pie shell at 400 degrees  till lightly brown . Turn oven down to 350 and proceed:                                                                                                                               Mix yolks with small amount of the milk in top of double boiler. Add remaining milk, tapioca, 1/2 cup sugar, salt, and chocolate pieces. Place over rapidly boiling water and cook 10-12 minutes after water boils again, stirring frequently. ( till thick and pudding begins to bubble) Add vanilla, blend and slightly cool. Pour into pie shell.

Beat egg whites till foamy throughout. Add sugar, 2 tablespoons at a time, beating after each addition until sugar is blended in. Continue beating until mixture stands in soft peaks. Pile on top of pudding in pie dish, sprinkle the coconut over the whites. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes or until delicately browned. Let cool, slightly. Shave chocolate over pie.

Right now it is too hot to cut, otherwise I would have taken a photo of it on a plate!  I did taste the warm pudding though, as most of us do when we are baking or cooking, and that spoon sure was MMM, MMM, GOOD!

                                        

About piesandeyes

I am a Chef, a Baker, a foodie, I love pots and pans, bakeries, and especially pies! I love the smells of something baking in the oven and I could live just standing next to a stove.
This entry was posted in Pies. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Antoinette Chocolate Meringue Pie

  1. That is sooo pretty!! I am currently (frustrated) attempting to roll out a second pie crust. I rolled the first too thin and ended up with a bunch of crumbly bits!!

  2. Looks like a cross between meringue and a Chocolate pie for sure! As the recipe mentioned, it’s very high indeed. I’ll keep imagining the taste of thick oozy chocolate and crunchy meringue all day now 🙂

    • piesandeyes says:

      I can tell you like chocolate! I am sending some oozing into my computer now, here it comes with the crunch of the meringue, now it is there, just imagine! Sorry I’m teasing you! Thanks for your comment!

  3. Nice transformation into an incredible pie!! Hey… please send me some like you did giaff!! 🙂

    • piesandeyes says:

      OK TT, Here comes your Chocolate Pie with Meringue, slowly entering the web, carefully, and gracefully, moving it through the keys, How come the keys are sticking? It must be sweet and chocolaty, I’m licking my fingers as it goes along! What a mess! I’m glad you saw the photo before I sent it to you! You would not want to have this pie now! But I’m sending it anyways! Because you like Chocolate! P&E

      Tim cookandcleanco@aol.com

Leave a Reply

