Pineapple Coconut Milk Pie

PINEAPPLE COCONUT MILK PIE

You could call it a Pina Colada Pie, but it has no pineapple juice in it and it has no rum. This pie is like a custard pie with eggs separated with the yolks going into the filling and the whites whipped into the topping. It is very light  for a hot summers  evening snack maybe sitting by the pool or serving guests on the patio. I made a mistake of using my pastry bag to pipe the topping on the top of the pie and it collapsed a little bit. When you get to the topping just spread the topping onto the pie like whipped cream and bake and brown like meringue in the oven.

1 Baked pastry shell

8-9 inch pie

CUSTARD

1 (14-16 oz can) coconut milk, placed in refrigerator for at least 1 hour

  • 1/8 cup cornstarch
  • 3 tablespoons minute tapioca
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 can (2-1/2 cups) crushed pineapple or sliced pineapple (chopped) juice strained and saved for another recipe
  • 2 egg yolks (beaten) in small bowl / whites saved for topping
  • 1 Tablespoon fresh lemon juice
Make baked pie shell, place on side to cool. Take coconut milk out of refrigerator,(do not shake) open can and scoop with a spoon coconut cream on top into mixing bowl, stop scooping when coconut milk is reached. Place bowl with coconut cream in refrigerator to chill, and save coconut milk Mix together  cornstarch, tapioca, sugar, and  salt in saucepan on stove. Add pineapple and saved coconut milk  to pan and heat on medium
heat stirring constantly until thickened. Take a tablespoon of hot mixture and add to egg yolks and whisk egg yolks back into pineapple/coconut mixture. Cook 1 more minute. Keep stirring. Add lemon juice and cool. Pour into pie shell.                                                Preheat oven to 425 degrees.        
Topping
2 egg whites ( beaten to soft peaks)
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
4 tablespoons sugar
Coconut cream (whipped)
Shredded coconut (optional)
Place egg whites in bowl and beat with a mixer , add cream of tarter, gradually add sugar till they reach soft peaks. Wash mixer beaters and dry. Take coconut cream out of refrigerator  and beat with a mixer till thick. Gradually add coconut cream to egg whites by taking a rubber spatula and starting on the bottom of the bowl fold cream in , just like you are making a mouse. Make a digging motion, under the whites, coming up to the top            and swooshing under and over, always folding never mixing until cream is folded in. With the rubber spatula spread topping over pie spreading all the way till the ends till covered. Top with coconut if desired, and sprinkle with sugar. Bake at 425 degrees for 10 minutes or until golden brown.
 



About piesandeyes

I am a Chef, a Baker, a foodie, I love pots and pans, bakeries, and especially pies! I love the smells of something baking in the oven and I could live just standing next to a stove.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Pies, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Pineapple Coconut Milk Pie

  1. charityhitt says:

    I’m a sucker for pineapple and coconut… definitely trying this, thanks for the recipe!

  2. Can I just say how much I looooove piña coladas and I think this pie is the closest I’ll get to my favourite cocktail in a dessert. Brilliant idea and it looks super creamy and tasty, (I’ll bet it was!!!) yum!

    • piesandeyes says:

      Ya, Pina Coladas just give you that relaxed feeling of being on a tropical island, caring about nothing, not a worry in the world! I had a piece of pie for breakfast, so I had my eggs to start the day!

  3. You had me at coconut! I think this is a genius idea for a pie. I only like virgin pina coladas because I am not fond of rum, so this looks tailor made for me!!

  4. debbrunson says:

    Love coconut and pineapple… and I love that you ate some for breakfast 😀 That I can do!!

  5. Mmmm…I’ve been on a coconut kick lately, and this looks delicious!

  6. Karen says:

    What a lovely pie…a wonderful way to end a summer meal.

  7. Wow! Very tropical! I will have to give this one a try.

  8. piesandeyes says:

    Have a bite and you will feel like you are on an island somewhere!

Leave a Reply

