Apple Pie Rollups

APPLE PIE ROLLUPS

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Do you have any leftover pie dough or you have some apples and you  don’t really want to make a pie, how about  making  Apple Pie Rollups. You don’t have to be fancy and crimp edges like you would do for a pie, just roll your dough into a rectangle, peel and core apples,about 8 apples will do it. Now add about 3-4 tablespoons of lemon juice to apples in a bowl. Add 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup of granulated sugar. Add 3  tablespoons of minute tapioca and a tablespoon of flour. Add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves and a dash of nutmeg and mix everything together.Place apple mixture on top of rectangle dough, near the end and roll up, jelly roll style, till you reach the end. Compact the dough so no apples are showing.

 Make a egg wash (1 egg + a little water) and brush over dough. Sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar. Cut into slices  and bake in 400 degree oven for 30-35 minutes till golden brown. Take out of oven and cool!

Make a glaze of confectioners sugar and some lemon juice and drizzle over rollups. Enjoy!

About piesandeyes

I am a Chef, a Baker, a foodie, I love pots and pans, bakeries, and especially pies! I love the smells of something baking in the oven and I could live just standing next to a stove.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Pies, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Apple Pie Rollups

  1. Looking good! I always love a warm drizzle of glaze and sugar to make my pastry seem even more special! I imagine it’s still a little cool over on Canada so your spring might be similar to our cooler Autumn here? Baking is my perfect remedy 🙂

    • piesandeyes says:

      Thanks! It’s a rainy day here in the states, Massachusetts, to be exact, which is making the flowers bloom a little faster! Baking is my remedy for anything, except when I eat more of my share, and then I get mad at my self!

  2. twisterfish says:

    Oh, I have a weakness for apple pie … will try these soon!

  3. These look so delicious!

  4. debbrunson says:

    These look delicious! The glaze on top just drying and curling a bit… LOVE it!! And I must say, P&E, that the beautiful flowers in the background of your pic made me smile 🙂 Lovely!

  5. Sammie says:

    So delicious! I love it! Never actually made apple pie. hehe…

    • piesandeyes says:

      Thanks Sammie! I would say that your great cakes would take up most of your time to make, and you would have nothing to prove by making a pie as your specialty and talent is your cake!

Leave a Reply

