Peach, Apricot, and Blackberry Rhubarb Pie

PEACH, APRICOT and  BLACKBERRY  RHUBARB PIE

Lets see, rhubarb, check!, strawberries, strawberries???!!??, What happened to my strawberries? I know I had them in here?? No strawberries to be found in the refrigerator!! What is rhubarb without strawberries? I was going to make a strawberry rhubarb pie, but now I don’t have any strawberries, because someone ate them or used them and now I have to make, lets see, I have peaches, and apricots, and blackberries, that’s it!!, I’ll combine all the fruit and the rhubarb and make a mixed fruit pie!!

1 (8-9 inch pie crust) top and bottom

  • 3-4 medium size peaches (stone removed, cut in quarters)
  • 3-4 apricots (stone removed, cut in quarters)
  • 8 ounces of blackberries
  • 1 cup of apple juice
  • 3 stalks of rhubarb (washed, sliced in 1/4 inch sections)
  • 1/2 fresh lemon (juice and zest)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of minute tapioca
  • 1 tablespoon of orange marmalade
  • egg wash (1 egg with a little milk mixed)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon mixed with 2 teaspoons of sugar for topping
Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  1. Make bottom crust and place on side
  2. Cut up Peaches and Apricots and rinse Blackberries
  3. Place the 1 cup of apple juice in a sauce pan and heat on stove till it comes to a boil
  4. Add cut up rhubarb to pan and turn down to simmer
  5. Cook rhubarb till you can pierce it with a fork
  6. Add brown sugar to pan and blend with rhubarb
  7. Add lemon juice and zest, and tapioca and orange marmalade and remove from heat
  8. Blend
  9. Add Peaches. Apricots, and Blackberries, to pan and stir till well coated
  10. Place fruit mixture in pie shell bottom
  11. Cover with top crust, either whole or lattice
  12. Brush egg wash over top
  13. Sprinkle with sugar/ cinnamon topping
  14. Bake 25-30 minutes in 400 degree oven or until lightly brown


About piesandeyes

I am a Chef, a Baker, a foodie, I love pots and pans, bakeries, and especially pies! I love the smells of something baking in the oven and I could live just standing next to a stove.
This entry was posted in Pies, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peach, Apricot, and Blackberry Rhubarb Pie

  1. I think you’re definitely the pie & pastry queen! Olive the lattice top and peaches sound equally great with the Rhubarb. I often find things go missing from the fridge, (only) in my case I probably ate that essential ingredient the night b4, lol 🙂

  2. twisterfish says:

    Can’t wait to try this one! Yum!

Leave a Reply

