Savory White Bean and Collard Greens Pie

SAVORY WHITE BEAN AND COLLARD GREENS PIE

A Vegan Pie, who knew that I would make a savory and healthy pie without butter and eggs! It’s against my principles, it’s against my cravings for sweet pies with loads of sugar and fat, it’s against my diet which contains lots of rich desserts and cholesterol that I should not have, but I declare, I like this Pie!! I did cheat and plopped some cheese on the top, but if you are a vegan, you can make it without it! I will admit that I put some butter in the crust, but you can make your own pie crust any way you want! It is a very tasty dish that is loaded with vegetables and vitamins! You have your beans for fiber, and your collard greens for helping keep cancer away and I also read that collard greens help lower your cholesterol and I know I need help with that! I also added a carrot and some green beans  and we know they are  good for you! So , the trick to a healthier  and long life is to eat healthy , but I’m not going to give up sweets just yet, maybe I’ll  just eat them in moderation!

350 degree oven

1 pie crust (bottom only) baked for 10 minutes 

Vegetables

2 cups of chopped collard greens

1 carrot cut in pieces

1 handful of green beans

2 tablespoons of olive oil

1/2 onion (diced fine)

3 garlic cloves (diced fine)

Heaping teaspoon of chopped fresh thyme

black pepper

  1. In a medium saucepan fill halfway with cold water and wait for boil, drop vegetables into boiling water and boil till tender, Drain and set aside.
  2. In a fry pan heat  olive oil over medium low  heat and cook onion and garlic till transparent and add fresh thyme and remove from heat and set aside.

Filling

  • 1 cup of walnuts
  • 1- 1/2 cups of navy beans or cannelloni beans (or one 15-ounce can, rinsed and drained)
  • 1 to -2 tablespoons of water
  • 1 tablespoon of cornstarch
  • 3/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 3/4 cup of shredded cheddar cheese (omit if you want)
  1. In a food processor pulse walnuts to a fine-crumb texture.
  2. Add the beans and 1 tablespoons of water and process (add another tablespoon of water if necessary to make mixture smooth)
  3. Add cornstarch and salt. Blend until cornstarch is no longer visable
  4. Add the onion and garlic mixture to the processor, first combine with spoon before processing. don’t completely blend in, use on and off pulse
  5. Now add vegetables using pulse on and off and don’t blend too much, you want the vegetable pieces showing in small pieces
  6. Spoon filling into partially baked crust, and smooth top with a spoon.
  7. Place shredded cheddar cheese over pie covering all. (if desired)
  8. Put a sprig of thyme in center of pie for garnish
  9. Bake for 40 minutes @350 degrees

About piesandeyes

I am a Chef, a Baker, a foodie, I love pots and pans, bakeries, and especially pies! I love the smells of something baking in the oven and I could live just standing next to a stove.
This entry was posted in Pies, Savory and Sweet. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Savory White Bean and Collard Greens Pie

  1. Laura says:

    How exciting! A vegan pie! It looks wonderful, and white beans and greens are a great combo. I’ll be trying this! 🙂

    • piesandeyes says:

      Thanks Laura! Your healthy ways of eating and cooking is rubbing off on me! Now, I just have to exercise more to be in good shape!Thanks for your inspiration!

      • Laura says:

        Oh, how awesome! It makes me so happy to hear that! Thank you for taking the time to read my posts…and keep up the great work! 🙂

  2. Lol, I’m reading the conversation and my inner hedonist is thinking ‘crust without butter!!!’ I love spinach and egg pies so I figure this might be similar to that? I don’t know what the equivalent of collard greens are here in Australia, could it be Silverbeet or regular spinach? Love a savoury pie and no doubt (this is a virtuous) as its going to get 😉

    • piesandeyes says:

      Thanks for suggesting I make a savoury pie! You can use spinach! You can actually use any vegetable as filling as long as the white beans go in as the bind!
      Collard greens are a type of kale and a little bitter! I’m not sure what silverbeet is but i’m sure its tasty!

Leave a Reply

