The Triple Berry Pie

Early winter and snow is hitting these parts today, and I don’t like it! Get me out of here! When the cold starts coming around the corner I just cringe! That feeling of isolation and hibernation begins to come upon me like a bear looking to hide in its cave for a long winters nap! I had fun in the snow when I was younger, sledding and building snow forts, and just playing and not minding the cold of old man winter! But today, as I grow older, I just want to hide! At least I love to bake, and that gives me some comfort for bearing with this stuff. I guess it’s all in the mind that I feel this way and I will change my way of thinking and think it is summer and make a summer pie. I have taken some berries out of the freezer that I froze this summer, and this will get rid of the Blahhs! I have some strawberries, some black raspberries, and some blueberries. So I give you the Triple Berry Pie, the winter wonder breaker! ” Yum, Yum, eat em up! “

THE TRIPLE BERRY PIE

400 degree oven

1 double Pie crust (top and bottom)

Filling:

2 – 1/2 cups of sliced strawberries ( I used frozen, you do not have to thaw)

2 cups of blackberries (whole) I used frozen, no need to thaw

1 -1/4 cups of fresh or frozen blueberries

2 tablespoons of orange zest

2 tablespoons of orange juice

2  tablespoons  of lemon juice

1/2 cup of sugar

2 tablespoons of cornstarch

  1. Combine all of the above ingredients in a bowl and mix together
  2. Place in unbaked pie shell
  3. Cover with top pie crust
  4. Bake for 25-30 minutes in 400 degree oven or until lightly brown on top
  5. Remove from oven and cool

About piesandeyes

I am a Chef, a Baker, a foodie, I love pots and pans, bakeries, and especially pies! I love the smells of something baking in the oven and I could live just standing next to a stove.
This entry was posted in Pies, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Triple Berry Pie

  1. sybaritica says:

    I like the roundels of pastry on the top … don’t the frozen berries throw off a lot of liquid?

    • piesandeyes says:

      The frozen berries do throw off some liquid but you want the pie to be juicy and the excess juice is absorbed by the added cornstarch and thickens the whole pie. Thanks for looking!

  2. I want to swap!!! For the first time, I’d love a white Christmas and snow falling down with log fires, pies and comfort good! You and family could have the beach holiday with 30C+ and seafood bbq’s!

    As for pie I’d happily accept a triple berry pie as payment and (with berry seadon coming soon,) I might need to send you some of the Australian best!

    • piesandeyes says:

      I’m coming Alice! Just kidding! I do like snow at Christmas time, but it is the rest of the year that bothers me! Winter is just too long and it is slow to leave, it goes on and on! But a beach holiday and seafood bbq sounds wonderful, especially after we get plummeted with cold and snow! A food exchange would be a fine idea! I wonder if you can send sunshine in the mail?

  3. Gosh your blog always makes me crave things..

  4. Leah says:

    This sounds perfect for Thanksgiving since I’m not a huge fan of pumpkin or apple pies!

Leave a Reply

