Cranberry and Cherry Pie

CRANBERRY AND CHERRY PIE

It is not too often I use canned pie filling, I like to make everything from scratch, but I had bought some cherry pie filling that I was going to use for a topping for a cheese cake and  I never made it, and I had some cranberries left over from my Thanksgiving Day meal that I knew the 2 berries would work well together, so I made a cranberry and cherry pie. The 2 berries alone are very tart and canned cherry pie filling has corn syrup added to it to make it sweet, but I thought it needed a little more sweetness to offset the tartness and give it some oomph, so I added granulated and brown sugar along with ginger and orange rind, and also added honey and some dried  chopped mango to complete the dish. I hope you like it!!

400 degree oven

1 – 9 inch pie crust (top and bottom)

Filling:

  • 3 cups of fresh cranberries
  • 3 tablespoons of orange rind
  • 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger
  • 3 tablespoons of chopped dried mango
  • 2 tablespoons of cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of honey
  • 1 can of Cherry Pie filling (20 ounces)
  • egg wash (1 egg plus a little milk)
  • 2 parts sugar to 1 part cinnamon (to sprinkle on top)

Sort and wash cranberries and place in a large bowl with orange rind, ginger, and mango. Add cornstarch and mix , making sure all is covered. Add granulated and brown sugar to bowl and blend together. Add honey and mix. Add cherry pie filling and mix making sure not to crush the berries. Let sit in bowl while you make egg wash. With a brush spread egg wash  on top of the bottom crust of pie, making sure to cover all. Spread filling inside pie crust. Top with top crust and seal and cut  slits so steam can escape. Brush egg wash on top of pie and sprinkle cinnamon sugar all over.

Bake in 400 degree oven for 30-40 minutes or until crust is golden brown.

About piesandeyes

I am a Chef, a Baker, a foodie, I love pots and pans, bakeries, and especially pies! I love the smells of something baking in the oven and I could live just standing next to a stove.
This entry was posted in Pies, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cranberry and Cherry Pie

  1. I love cherries and I actually think that tinned cherries are a great product for baking. All that pip work has been done for you which means I get to eat quicker too 😉 as for the addition of orange rind and ginger it would be quite festive too for the upcoming holiday season!

  2. I love the combo – the flavors must be wonderful together with both cranberries and cherries and the hint of mango! 🙂

  3. petit4chocolatier says:

    This looks and sounds delicious!!

Leave a Reply

